What Does It Take for Nurses to Believe They Are Heroes?

nurses are heroesNurses are often referred to as “angels” or “heroes.” Yet when we receive these compliments; we often downplay them by saying, “No, I’m just the nurse.” Or, “Nah…I’m just doing my job.” We often think that the term hero should be reserved for people who save lives while risking their own (military); or for humans who demonstrate great acts of bravery despite the repercussions (Nelson Mandela).

My most popular keynote presentation is titled, “Celebrate Nursing: Human by Birth – Hero by Choice.” This is also the title of my latest book. During this presentation, I try to convince nurses that they ARE heroes and that being a hero is a choice. That if you compare the definition of a hero to the definition of a nurse, they match.

But I’m not confident I’ve completely convinced nurses that they are heroes. Maybe I’m asking too much. After all, nursing is a selfless profession. Perhaps we need to start smaller.

The Little Things Matter

Last week I was caring for an elderly male patient. During report, the night shift nurse told me he was on Coumadin. I asked for the reason why, but she didn’t know. My first thought was that he had a history of stroke so perhaps the stroke was embolic due to afib. I went through his chart and didn’t find anything. No history of afib, no DVT, no valve, no embolic anything. I did not see any reason for this patient to be on Coumadin.

READ MORE AT Nursetogether.com

To learn more about the INA please visit www.INAnurse.com

About International Nurses Association

The International Nurses Association was founded on the idea that professional achievement is deserving of recognition, exposure and reward. As a meeting place for the top minds in nursing, INA offers unlimited opportunities to further your success and embrace your role as a vital member of the medical community. INA is the fastest growing network of nurses from around the globe and takes pride in delivering its members the platform and competitive edge needed to survive in this ever-changing and complex environment. Visit www.inanurse.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

