On Nurses Schedule: The Truth About Working 3 Days a Week

 

On Nurses Schedule: The Truth About Working 3 Days a WeekThere are so many times I’ve heard someone say how great it must be to “only” work 3 days a week.

I usually smile, nod, and lie through my teet  nmi..96h: yes, it’s great having 4 days off every week.

But 12-hour shifts are usually 14-hour shifts, and the work that we do as nurses is physically and emotionally demanding, draining us every shift of every last ounce of energy. Our co-workers end up being an extension of our family because we secretly share the same struggles. In fact, I don’t remember the last time I only worked three days in one week. When you get the call at five in the morning that the next shift is short, that there’s this many people in labor (and only this many nurses), it’s hard to say no because you hope that someone would come in if you were the one working and begging for help.

Appreciating the time we have.

My favorite time of the day is 9pm. The kids are asleep and I get to spend a couple of hours with my husband. I don’t care if I work the next day or if it’s my fourth day in a row, I will stay up with him as long as possible, fighting off sleep and tiptoeing around the house in an attempt to not wake the kids.

When my husband asks if I want some wine, he’ll ask while he’s already pouring my glass. Yes, I want wine! Yes, I want to watch another episode of The Good Wife! I don’t care if I have to get up early. I don’t care if I still haven’t washed my favorite pair of scrubs, I don’t care if it’s almost midnight; I will continue to yawn and ignore how heavy my eyes feel and I will enjoy every second I have sitting on the couch doing absolutely nothing, except drinking red wine and asking my husband to tend to my needs: more wine please!

Work is like a dance.

READ MORE AT NURSETOGETHER.COM

To learn more about the INA please visit www.INAnurse.com

 

About International Nurses Association

The International Nurses Association was founded on the idea that professional achievement is deserving of recognition, exposure and reward. As a meeting place for the top minds in nursing, INA offers unlimited opportunities to further your success and embrace your role as a vital member of the medical community. INA is the fastest growing network of nurses from around the globe and takes pride in delivering its members the platform and competitive edge needed to survive in this ever-changing and complex environment. Visit www.inanurse.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

