Finding My Calling in Hospice Nursing

Finding My Calling in Hospice NursingHospice nursing is where I found my heart and soul!

No other specialty embodies what it truly means to be a nurse than hospice care. With its palliative approach, the focus is on the patient, rather than on the disease. Hospice nursing affords a nurse to connect on a deeper level, not only with those in his/her care, but with the loved ones also affected. Though not everyone is able to get comfortable with this nursing role, for me, it is the reason I wanted to go into nursing in the first place.

My Expanded Role

By caring for hospice patients, I now have a more expanded role, not only as a caregiver, but also as an educator, a comforter, and an integral part of the family unit during this time of need. The qualities I possess that have been scorned in the past for being “inefficient” are now welcomed in this new role; my wanting to care, to be patient and to be understanding. In my new role, I can be the nurse I have always known I could be.

READ MORE AT NURSETOGETHER.COM

To learn more about the INA please visit www.INAnurse.com

About International Nurses Association

The International Nurses Association was founded on the idea that professional achievement is deserving of recognition, exposure and reward. As a meeting place for the top minds in nursing, INA offers unlimited opportunities to further your success and embrace your role as a vital member of the medical community. INA is the fastest growing network of nurses from around the globe and takes pride in delivering its members the platform and competitive edge needed to survive in this ever-changing and complex environment. Visit www.inanurse.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

